Nursing Graduates Honored at Capping & Pinning Ceremony

Melbourne – Practical and Registered Nursing graduates at Ozarka College were honored at a Recognition Ceremony in the John E. Miller Education Complex on December 8, 2009.

Students completing their studies in practical nursing were: Mandy Brokaw of Melbourne, Jerry Clagg of Wiseman, Aaron Dailing of Melbourne, Joy Elrod of Melbourne, Lindsey Faulkner    of Melbourne, Kayla Finley of Sidney, Raegan Groves of Melbourne, Katie Lawrence of Melbourne, Joanna Lee of Evening Shade, Jared Middleton of Evening Shade, Kelly Morgan of Hardy, Meagan Hollowell-Vickers of Melbourne, Rebecca Whitten of Melbourne, and Hazel Wilcox of Mammoth Spring.

Students completing studies in registered nursing through the Arkansas Rural Nursing Education Consortium (ARNEC) program located at Ozarka College were:  Angela Carter of Melbourne, Sarah Colvin of Evening Shade, Alexander Easley of Cave City, Donna Galloway of Calico Rock, Jacob Goff of Sidney, Roy Guiltner of Mt. Pleasant, Kasey Lawrence of Melbourne, Toni Lindsey of Calico Rock, Michelle Meeker of Wiseman, Stephanie Patrick of Oxford, Lori Richards of Williford, Mike Rogers of Mountain View, Christina Rush of Melbourne, Kristi Russell of Melbourne, Nathan West of Ash Flat, and Jeffrey Wilson of Cherokee Village.

After Ozarka President, Dr. Richard Dawe welcomed guests attending the ceremony; and Andrea Meeker offered the Invocation; ARNEC Program Director, Jill Hasley of Cossatot Community College of the University of Arkansas, Nashville Campus opened the ceremony.

Nursing students and faculty members recognized outstanding students, as well as the top facilities and nurses.  This semester’s Florence Nightingale Awards went to Aaron Dailing for LPN and Mike Rogers for RN.  This award is given to a student in each program who exemplifies the true meaning of nursing with hard work and a true dedication to the profession.

The LPN class awards were:  Hazel Wilcox, first place, with a tie for second between Kayla Finley and Lindsey Faulkner for Theory awards.  Hazel Wilcox, first place in clinical and Jared Middleton, second in Clinical awards. Students awarded Penny Briley as nurse of the year, and White River Medical Center as the facility of the year.

The RN awards were Roy Guiltner, first place and Mike Rogers, second for Theory awards.  Mike Rogers was first place and Kristi Russell was second for Clinical awards.  Students awarded Paula Bennett as nurse of the year and Baxter Regional Medical Center was facility of the year.

A slide presentation was given courtesy of Nursing Secretary, Stacy Dale, followed by family honors offered by the entire class of students to their family members.  Nursing faculty, Alison DeLong, Jill Hasley, Ruby Johnson, Susan Thielemier, Valerie West, and Katie Wilson presented graduates with caps, pins and lamps.  Allied Health Division Chair and instructor, Ruby Johnson offered closing remarks and Jerry Clagg offered the Benediction.

The Culinary Arts department catered a reception for the graduates, their families and friends and other guests following the ceremony.

For further information regarding Ozarka’s 18-month LPN program, the 11-month programs in Ash Flat or Mountain View, or the RN program through ARNEC please contact the admissions department at 870-368-7371 or via email, [email protected]

LPN fall09(2)