Only Three Days Remain Until Public Assistance Deadline

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – Only three days remain until the Jan. 2 deadline
for Arkansas state and local agencies and certain private non-profit
organizations that may be eligible for federal disaster assistance to submit
a Request for Public Assistance (RPA) form to the Arkansas Department of
Emergency Management (ADEM).

Public Assistance funds are available in 38 Arkansas counties as part of the
federal disaster declaration for severe storms, tornadoes and flooding
beginning Oct. 29 and ending Nov. 8. The main goal of the Federal Emergency
Management Agency (FEMA) and state Public Assistance program is to provide
reimbursement for eligible, disaster-related expenses and restoration of
eligible facilities to pre-disaster levels.

Jan. 2 is the deadline to submit an RPA for Boone, Bradley, Calhoun,
Carroll, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Cross, Dallas, Franklin,
Fulton, Grant, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Logan,
Marion, Monroe, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Poinsett, Prairie, Pulaski,
Randolph, Saint Francis, Scott, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White and
Woodruff Counties.

These areas were designated eligible for Public Assistance (PA) on Dec. 3.

Jan. 15 is the deadline for state agencies, local governments and certain
private non-profit organizations in Drew County to submit RPAs to the state.
Drew County was designated eligible for federal PA funds on Dec.16.

ADEM and FEMA have received more than 70 RPAs from state and local
governments and private non-profits that provide critical community

To apply for Public Assistance funds, eligible agencies and organizations
must first submit an RPA to ADEM.  More information can be obtained by
calling the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management Recovery Branch at

The PA program is administered in Arkansas by ADEM and funded up to 75
percent by FEMA. The program reimburses local and county governments and
certain private non-profit organizations for expenses or damage incurred
during the disaster and may cover costs for emergency protective measures,
debris removal and public facility repair or replacement costs including
buildings, equipment, utilities, and other facilities.

Applicants must submit Requests for Public Assistance (RPA) to the state
within 30 days of the date the area was designated part of the federal major
disaster declaration.

Editors:  For more information on Arkansas disaster recovery, visit online
at or


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color,
religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic
status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call
FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.

The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (ADEM) is the state’s
homeland security and emergency management agency. The agency works to
identify and lessen the effects of emergencies, disasters and threats to
Arkansas by developing effective prevention, preparedness, mitigation,
response and recovery actions for all disasters and emergencies.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure
that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our
capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and
mitigate all hazards.