Unity Health – Harris Medical Center Welcomes New Administrator

Unity Health is excited to announce the appointment of

Darren Caldwell President for Unity Health’s Harris Medical Center

Darren Caldwell President for Unity Health’s Harris Medical Center

t. Caldwell will officially take his position on Monday, August 17, 2015


“As a part of Unity Health, I would like to continue to install its brand in the community and help prove the true commitment of the organization in providing quality healthcare services through its physicians and inpatient and outpatient services,” Caldwell said. “We want people to realize we are serious about meeting the community’s needs. It is my hope that we can also improve flow of referral services and bring to rest any concerns with the recent acquisition of the hospital and its ownership stability.”

Caldwell, who formerly served as the CEO of DeWitt Hospital and Nursing Home in DeWitt, Ark., has served Arkansas for more than 25 years through his healthcare career. He was the 2014 recipient of the A. Allen Weintraub Administrator of the Year Award, presented by the Arkansas Hospital Association (AHA).

He served as the assistant administrator at Delta Memorial Hospital from 1989 until 1991 and was then named CEO of Dewitt Hospital and Nursing Home where he worked for five years before serving as the CEO of Drew Memorial Hospital in Monticello, Ark. until 2002 when he returned as CEO at DeWitt Hospital and Nursing Home.

His resume includes accomplishments such as remodeling and building a new clinic facility, securing a $400,000 grant for capital improvements to the critical access hospital and increasing the nursing home census by 35 percent after several years of no substantial change.

As a member of the Arkansas Hospital Association’s (AHA) Board of Directors since 2008, Caldwell has served as the group’s treasurer and has chaired the AHA’s Medicaid committee. He is also the chairman for the Greater Delta Alliance for Health Inc., a board member of the American Red Cross, a past president of the DeWitt Chamber of Commerce and DeWitt Rotary Club, a member of the DeWitt Industrial Development Corporation, Dumas Chamber of Commerce, Drew County Chapter of the Cancer Society, Drew County Chapter of the Heart Association and the Arkansas County Advisory Committee to the Phillips Community College.