Connie Moser of Calico Rock named 2018 Arkansas Rural Teacher of the Year

Aug. 14, 2018 — Connie Moser, a 42-year educator, was recently named the 2018 Arkansas Rural Education Association’s Teacher of the Year. The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas have sponsored the Rural Teacher of the Year Award since 2004.

The Calico Rock School District special education teacher received the award earlier this year in a surprise event at the school’s gymnasium. During the event, the students and faculty gave her two standing ovations. She was presented with a crystal apple award and a check for $1,000 from the Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas and then honored with a community appreciation reception immediately following the school-wide event.

Teacher-of-the-year nominations are vetted by the state’s 15 educational cooperatives, which then submit a finalist for each educational cooperative district to the Rural Education Association for consideration. Moser was nominated through the North Central Arkansas Education Service Cooperative in Melbourne.

Calico Rock Superintendent Jerry Skidmore said, “She’s kind of special to me. She influences not only the students, but adults as well. She’s influenced a lot of lives. She helps with just about every function we have here at school. On top of that, she does her job, which is special education supervisor. That involves lots of paperwork and lots of supervising other employees in the special education department.”

The Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas comprise 17 electric distribution cooperatives; Arkansas Electric Cooperatives, Inc. (AECI), a Little Rock-based cooperative that provides services to the distribution cooperatives; and Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corp. (AECC), a generation and transmission cooperative. The distribution cooperatives provide electricity to approximately 500,000 homes, farms and businesses in Arkansas and surrounding states.

For additional information, contact:

Rob Roedel, Electric Cooperatives of Arkansas, 501.570.2296 or