Emma Reed of Quitman and 5 other Scholarships Awarded to Arkansas College Students Majoring in Agriculture

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture recently awarded $20,000 in scholarships to six students attending Arkansas universities with agricultural programs. The universities include Arkansas State University, Southern Arkansas University, the University of Arkansas, and Arkansas Tech University.

The scholarship recipients include the following students:

Arkansas State University

–        Austin Hampton, Bryant, AR; Plant and Soil Science Major

–        Jimmy Duvall, Jonesboro, AR; Plant and Soil Science Major

Southern Arkansas University

–        Emma Reed, Quitman, AR; Agriculture Education Major

–        Sherman Glass, Magnolia, AR; Agriculture Education Major

Arkansas Tech University

–        Dixie Sayger, Dover, AR; Agribusiness and Horticulture Major

University of Arkansas

–        Thomas “Max” McKeown, Wilmar, AR; Horticulture, Landscape and Turf Sciences Major

“The Arkansas Department of Agriculture is pleased to provide funding to help these deserving students further their education and prepare for potential careers in agriculture, our state’s largest industry,” said Wes Ward, Arkansas Secretary of Agriculture.  “It is an exciting time to be involved in the agricultural industry and we wish the scholarship recipients all the best as they consider the many career options available in agriculture,” said Ward.

Funding for the scholarships comes from civil penalties collected by the Arkansas Department of Agriculture.  Each institution receives $5,000 annually and has its own process for selecting the scholarship recipients and the amounts awarded to each student.The Arkansas Department of Agriculture is dedicated to the development and implementation of policies and programs for Arkansas agriculture and forestry to keep its farmers and ranchers competitive in national and international markets while ensuring safe food, fiber, and forest products for the citizens of the state and nation. Visit agriculture.arkansas.gov.