Harding University Awarded $5,000 Grant from State Farm

Harding University was awarded a $5,000 grant by State Farm in support of the University’s work in connection with National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) advancement in Arkansas.

The Harding campus serves as the annual conference site for Arkansas Teachers for National Board Certification (ATNBC). The ATNBC is an affiliate of the National Board Certification program. NBPTS is a national program that promotes advanced certification for teachers in all disciplines. Recognized as the gold standard in teacher certification, the National Board believes higher standards for teachers means better learning for students. Rigorous benchmarks and standards for NBPTS certification are designed to help teachers further develop in terms of educational communication, classroom organization, subject matter expertise, and the development of clear learning objectives for their students.

Assistant Dean and Chair of Graduate Studies for the University’s Cannon-Clary College of Education Clara Carroll is the NBPTS liaison and serves on the ATNBC board planning committee of the annual conference.

In addition to workshop sessions, this year’s conference will also welcome State Senator Joyce Elliott, a former NBPTS board member, of Little Rock as its keynote speaker; Justin Minkle, Arkansas Teacher of the Year and national board certified teacher; and Peggy Brookins, executive vice president of NBPTS. The conference will be held Feb. 28 at Harding.

For more information contact Carroll at 501-279-4501 or ccarroll@harding.edu.

Harding is the largest private university in Arkansas with 6,075 students and has been ranked by U.S. News & World Report for the 21st consecutive year as a top 25 school in the South. Harding also maintains campuses in Australia, Chile, England, France, Greece, Italy and Zambia. For more information visit www.harding.edu.