Moore Elected Chairman of Arkansas Highway Commission

Robert S. Moore, Jr., of Arkansas City, was elected Chairman of the Arkansas Highway Commission at a special called meeting on March 9, according to Arkansas Department of Transportation (ARDOT) officials.

Moore replaces the late Thomas B. Schueck of Little Rock, who passed away March 3, 2020, as Chairman. He was appointed to the Arkansas Highway Commission by Governor Mike Beebe effective January 22, 2013.

Commissioner Dalton A. (Alec) Farmer, Jr., of Jonesboro, was elected Vice Chairman at the same meeting.

Moore is a graduate of McGehee High School, Ouachita Baptist University and the University of Arkansas Law School. He served five years active duty as an Infantry Officer in the U.S. Army, including a year in Vietnam as an Army Pilot. Moore is a three-term member of the Arkansas House of Representatives and represented the 12th District in southeast Arkansas. He was elected by his peers to serve as Speaker of the House during his final term in the legislature in 2011.
Moore’s public service began in 1974 as an Assistant Attorney General for Jim Guy Tucker.
Governor David Pryor appointed Moore as chairman of the Arkansas Transportation Commission (which at that time regulated Intrastate Trucking) in 1977 where he served until 1981. In early 1986, he joined the staff of Governor Bill Clinton and, in 1987, was appointed by Clinton as Director of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division. He served in that capacity for two decades, being reappointed by Governors Tucker and Huckabee.

Moore also serves, by appointment of Governor Hutchinson, as a member of the Governor’s Advisory Council on Cycling. He is an active member of a number of civic organizations statewide. In recognition of his work promoting tourism, he was inducted into the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame in 2019.