United States Senators Tom Cotton, Warren, Thune and Sinema Reintroduce National POW/MIA Flag Act

Washington, D.C.— United States Senators Tom Cotton (R-Arkansas), Elizabeth Warren (D-Massachusetts), John Thune (R-South Dakota), and Kyrsten Sinema (D-Arizona) today reintroduced the National POW/MIA Flag Act, which would require the POW/MIA Flag to be displayed whenever the American flag is displayed on prominent federal properties, including the U.S. Capitol, the White House, the World War II Memorial, the Korean War Veterans Memorial, the Vietnam Veterans Memorial, every national cemetery, the buildings containing the official offices of the Secretaries of State, Defense, and Veterans Affairs, the office of the Director of the Selective Service System, each major military installation (as designated by the Secretary of Defense), each Department of Veterans Affairs medical center, and each United States Postal Service post office. The senators introduced this bill to honor the more than 82,000 Americans who are listed as Prisoners of War (POW), Missing in Action (MIA), or otherwise unaccounted for from our nation’s past wars and conflicts.

Under current law, the POW/MIA Flag is required to be displayed by the federal government on certain prominent federal properties only six days per year: Armed Forces Day, Memorial Day, Flag Day, Independence Day, National POW/MIA Recognition Day, and Veterans Day. The National POW/MIA Flag Act will ensure that the POW/MIA Flag is displayed whenever the U.S. flag is displayed, effectively ensuring that both flags are displayed concurrently and every day at federal locations already designated under existing law.

“Over 82,000 Americans, including hundreds of Arkansans, remain missing from past wars,” said Cotton. “They are not forgotten. It is my hope that this small gesture reminds Americans to honor those who left our shores, and never returned.”

“Honoring our servicemembers who have fought courageously and honorably for our country’s freedom is so important,” said Warren. “I am proud to introduce this bipartisan bill alongside Senators Cotton, Thune, and Sinema to honor all servicemembers, including those who have not made it home.”

“May we never forget the cost of freedom or the sacrifice of those who are yet to return home,” said Thune. “I display this flag outside of my office each day, and I hope the government will soon expand its recognition of these veterans and their families, a symbol of our commitment to bring them home.”

“I come from a military family- honoring our veterans is personal for me,” said Sinema. “We cannot forget those who sacrificed for our country and never returned home.”

The House version will be introduced by Representatives Chris Pappas (D-NH-01) and Jack Bergman (R-MI-01). The bill is also endorsed by Rolling Thunder, Inc. National; Rolling Thunder Inc. Massachusetts Chapters 1 and 2; the National League of POW/MIA Families; Veterans of Foreign Wars; The American Legion; and the National Alliance of Families for the Return of America’s Missing Servicemen.

This bill was first introduced in the Senate during the 115th Congress by Senators Cotton and Warren.