2011 Farm Service Agency County Committee Nominations Sought

The election of responsible agricultural producers to FSA county committees is important to ALL farmers and ranchers with large or small operations. It is crucial that every eligible producer take part in this election because county committees are a direct link between the farm community and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

  Committee members are a critical component of the day-to-day operations of FSA.  They help deliver FSA farm programs at the local level. Farmers who serve on committees help decide the kind of programs their counties will offer.  They work to make FSA agricultural programs serve the needs of local producers. 

For election purposes, counties are divided into local administrative areas, or LAAs.  Cleburne County is divided into three LAAs.  Each LAA has one producer serve a three year term on the FSA County Committee.  Every year, an election is held in a LAA to replace the committee member whose term is expiring.  This year’s election will be held in LAA 1 which is comprised of the following townships: Grassey, Heber Springs, Sugar Loaf, Wilburn, Pine, McJester, Mountain, and Pickens.  This position is currently held by Sue Haile. 

To hold office as a county committee member, a person must participate or cooperate in a program administered by FSA, be eligible to vote in a county committee election and reside in the LAA in which the person is a candidate.  A complete list of eligibility requirements is posted online at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov/Internet/FSAFile/ccoeligib10.pdf .  

Farmers, ranchers and other agricultural producers may begin nominating eligible candidates to serve June 15, 2011. Individuals can nominate themselves or others as candidates.   Additionally, organizations representing minorities and women may nominate candidates. If you are unsure of your eligibility, contact the staff at the Cleburne County FSA office.  

All nominees must sign form FSA-669A, which includes a statement that the nominee agrees to serve if elected.  Form 669-A is available at the Cleburne County FSA office and online at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov/elections .  All nomination forms for the 2011 election must be postmarked or received in the Cleburne County FSA office located on 110-A Tulaka Boulevard, Heber Springs by close of business on August 1, 2011. 

For more information about the FSA county committees, visit the Cleburne county FSA office or

online at: http://www.fsa.usda.gov/ . Then select the County Committee Election page.