AFP-Arkansas Recognizes Philanthropic Leaders

The Arkansas chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals will recognize outstanding contributions in philanthropy during the annual National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon at the Peabody Hotel Ballroom on Wednesday, November 14, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

During the luncheon, AFP will recognize individuals and organizations that enable nonprofits in the state to meet critical needs and enhance lives of thousands of Arkansans.  Honorees for 2012 are: Eileen and Dr. Ricardo Sotomora, Outstanding Philanthropists; Kirk Bradshaw, Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser; Eleanor Grace Lambert, Outstanding Volunteer Youth Fundraiser; Little Rock Central High Junior Civitan Club, Outstanding Volunteer Organization; Baptist Health, Outstanding Philanthropic Corporation; Blue & You Foundation for a Healthier Arkansas; Outstanding Philanthropic Foundation and Dawn Prasifka, Outstanding Fundraising Professional.

Arkansas ranks 7th among the 50 states for charitable giving as a percentage of our residents’ income.  Last year, Arkansans contributed almost $1 billion to nonprofit organizations that work every day to fulfill the needs of Arkansans.  AFP-Arkansas joins thousands of other chapters in celebrating this dedication to philanthropy the second Wednesday of November, designated as National Philanthropy Day. National Philanthropy Day acknowledges the entire spectrum of services provided by the nonprofit community and recognizes the profound impact that philanthropy has in Arkansas and in the United States.

More than 400 community leaders, nonprofit executives and philanthropists from central Arkansas attend the luncheon each year.  Major sponsors of this year’s celebration are Gardner & Associates, Arkansas Children’s Hospital, Centers for Youth and Families, Arkansas Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Baptist Health. Craig O’Neill, KTHV, will serve as master of ceremonies.