Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce Business Expo & Annual Awards Ceremony Honors Six

The Batesville Area Chamber  of Commerce hosted the 2012 Business Expo and Annual Awards which took place Thursday, March 1st, 2012 from 10:00am-2:00pm on the campus of UACCB in Independence Hall. The event also featured keynote speaker Governor Mike Beebe. There were 67 Vendors from Batesville and surrounding areas and nearly 400 in total attendance.

The Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce honored Bad Boy, Incorporated as Large Business of the Year; The Batesville Motor Speedway as Small Business of the Year; U.S. Pizza as New Business of the Year; Randy Reichardt as Past Chairman; Vonda Oberbeck as Volunteer of the Year; and Cynthia Harris as Ambassador of the Year.

Robert Foster, co-owner of Bad Boy, Incorporated, accepted the award for Large Business of the Year. Bad Boy, Incorporated was founded in 1998.They have experienced tremendous growth and they continue to experience significant growth and expansion. This business participates in a variety of community activities. Their increase in total sales and market penetration are due to a combination of a competent and dedicated workforce managed by a team of employee oriented leaders. The working environment is team oriented, much like a family. They continue to develop innovative ideas and evaluate the potential for other business opportunities to diversify its business model.

Mooney Starr, owner of Batesville Motor Speedway, accepted the award for Small Business of the Year. As long time residents of Independence Co., Connie and Mooney Starr know how to promote their business and our county, bringing in thousands of visitors to Batesville each year having a large economic impact on our area. They are very involved in the community, sponsoring events like A Night at the Races benefiting United Way.

Chintan Patel, owner of US Pizza of Batesville, accepted the award for New Business of the Year. Patel is a graduate of Batesville High School and is a multi-business owner at a young age. His leadership abilities are a necessary asset, managing over 40 employees. His goal is to bring new business to Batesville and take business into a new direction. This new business has filled a need in our community.

Randy Reichardt, owner of Randy Reichardt Insurance Agency, accepted the award for Past Chairman. Reichardt has dedicated himself to serving the community and is given credit to the placement of the Westside Substation.

Vonda Oberbeck, Executive Director of United Way, accepted the award for Volunteer of the Year. Oberbeck moved to Batesville in 2003 but no one would argue that she is already an important leader in this community. She leads by example and is an excellent manager of her volunteers that contribute to her success. She is a hard worker who is dedicated to helping others and leading by example. A quote from her… “You all must be willing to be the change you want to see”.

Cynthia Harris, manager at Maurices of Batesville, accepted the award for Ambassador of the Year. Harris is always willing to volunteer her time and effort in areas needed for the Chamber of Commerce. Harris has been an Ambassador of the Chamber since 2009.

Presenting sponsor was First Community Bank.  Diamond sponsor was Wal-Mart. Gold Sponsors were UACCB, WRD Entertainment, Wade’s, White River Medical Center, Batesville Printing, Schwegman’s, First National Banking Company, FutureFuel, and Merchants and Planters Bank. Silver sponsors were Liberty Bank, Terminix, Citizens bank, Centerpoint Energy, Southern Bank, and Health Resources of Arkansas.