Faulkner County Leadership Institute Award Annouces Leadership Awards

William M (Bill) Hegeman and Pastor E.C. Cornell Maltbia(Above) William M (Bill) Hegeman and Pastor E.C. Cornell Maltbia

Faulkner County Leadership Institute held their Annual Award Banquet on Monday, November 9 at the Centennial Events Center.

William M. (Bill) Hegeman received the FCLI Leadership Award. This award is presented to a leader in the community who has the same qualities as the Dan Nabholz award recipient, but who has not been through the FCLI program.

Hegeman is retired from Conway Corporation (1960-1998) and served as the Chief Executive Officer at the time of his retirement. He is currently serving as Treasurer of the Conway Downtown Partnership Board of Directors, the Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners, the Metro Little Rock Alliance, the St. Joseph Endowment and Charitable Trust, the St. Joseph Cemetery Commission, the Chairman of the St. Joseph Church Planning and Development Committee, and the Lead Director of the National Board of Directors for the Catholic Knights.

He has previously served on the boards for the Conway Chamber of Commerce, the Arkansas Municipal Power Association, the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce, the Conway Kiwanis Club, the United Way of Faulkner County, Conway Board Adjustment, Conway Planning Commission, Toad Suck Daze Chairman, American Red Cross-Faulkner County Chapter, and the Conway Development Corporation.

Accomplishments include the “Honored with Distinguished Service Award” by the Conway Area Chamber of Commerce; named one of the “10 Most Influential People in Faulkner County” in the Log Cabin Democrat 1997 survey; the” Vocational Service Business Award” by Conway Rotary Club 1998; the “Volunteer of the Year Award” by the Arkansas Economic Developers 2000; the “Volunteer of the Year Award” by the Southern Economic Development Conference 2000, and the naming of Brewer-Hegeman Conference Center on the University of Central Arkansas Campus 2001, as well as being named 2009 Distinguished Alumnus – St. Joseph School.

“Having participated in a number of sessions with different classes, and having a son, daughter and daughter-in-law all having graduated from the Institute, I know the benefits that this organization has brought to our great community,” said Hegeman.

Pastor E.C. “Cornell” Maltbia, received the Dan Nabholz Leadership Award. This award is given to a graduate of the institute who exhibits special leadership skills and shows dedication to his community. Maltbia graduated from FCLI in `99.

Maltbia is the founder and Pastor of the True Saints Holiness Center. He serves as the Chaplain for the Conway Police Department, the Chaplain for the Arkansas House of Representatives 87th General Assembly and as Commissioner for the Arkansas Martin Luther King Coalition. He is a graduate of Conway High School and of the University of Central Arkansas with his degree in Business Administration.

Previously, Maltbia served on the United Way of Central Arkansas Board of Directors, the University of Central Arkansas Grievance Advisory Board, the Salvation Army of Faulkner County Board and both the Central Arkansas and Conway Ministerial Alliance.

The accomplishments of Maltbia are many but began with his first acknowledgement at age 17 by the Arkansas Democrat Gazette as “Youth of the Year” and most recently he received the “Ten Outstanding Young Arkansan Award” and the “Award of Recognition and Appreciation” from the African American Alumni Association.

A 1990 graduate of Conway High School, Maltbia received a Bachelor of Business Administration from the University of Central Arkansas. He is married to the former Natasha Nicole Pierce of Conway, Arkansas. They are the parents of two lovely children Kennedy and Connor.

During the pogram, FCLI also recognized the graduating class of 2009: Julie Agee-Gillaspy, Amy Blaylock, Margaret Corbett, Julia Cunningham, David Hall, Benton Harvey, Jon Henderson, Polly Ingram, Caren Lewis, Denise Pearson-Bethea, Wes Pruitt, Bryan Quinn, Matthew Rice, Shawanna Rodgers, Bart Shaw, Todd Spradlin, Todd Tipton, Bill Tobias, Melissa Turner, Ronda Warneke, Kathy Weatherly, Dot Welch, and Brad Youngblood. Congratulations to the Class of 2009!