The Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) is now accepting nominations for the 2009 Arkansas Environmental Stewardship Award, the agency’s annual recognition of citizens or organizations for their efforts to protect and enhance the state’s environment. Nomination packets must be postmarked by March 6, 2009, in order to be considered for the award, which will be presented at the April 24, 2009, regular meeting of the Arkansas Pollution Control and Ecology commission.

The “ENVY Award” was established in 2005 to honor a major contribution by an individual or organization involving environmental stewardship activities in Arkansas.

The award recipient will be selected from among the entries in five different categories of environmental-related activities or concepts: Innovation, Green Government, Environmental Education and Outreach, Environmental Improvement or Enhancement, and Sustainability.

The Innovation category concerns environmental management efforts which break new ground in protecting resources, particularly involving new or unique programs or activities which utilize methods, technologies, materials, or implementations that go beyond “traditional” environmental control measures.

Efforts by state or local government employees or agencies to improve performance within their own operations or for their stakeholders will be the focus of the Green Government category.

The Environmental Education and Outreach category is for programs and special projects which promote effective environmental education and outreach efforts aimed at citizens, schools, civic groups, and communities as a whole.

The Environmental Improvement or Enhancement category highlights activities which have had a positive impact on the quality of the environment in Arkansas. Watershed improvements, mine reclamations, wetlands construction, Brownfields projects, and industrial site redevelopment and reuse are among the types of activities to be considered for nominations.

The Sustainability category criteria will focus on projects or programs which minimize the environmental impact of various activities through efforts such as recycling or reuse programs, pollution prevention, energy conservation, or waste minimization.

Nomination packets should be addressed to: ENVY Award Packet, Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality, 5301 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118.

ADEQ Director Teresa Marks will appoint a panel of judges to narrow the entries to a group of finalists from which the ENVY Award winner will then be chosen. Each finalist will also receive recognition by the ADEQ.

More information on the criteria for the award and a paper nomination packet can be obtained by contacting Becky Allison in the ADEQ’s Public Outreach and Assistance (POA) Division at 501-682-0978, or by accessing the link in the “Hot Topics” box on the agency’s Internet web site at An electronic copy of the nomination packet for the award is available on the web site.

ADEQ employees and programs are not eligible for the award.