Arkansas Lawmakers Announce Disaster Assistance For State

Washington – U.S. Senators Blanche Lincoln and Mark Pryor and Representatives Marion Berry (AR-01), Vic Snyder (AR-02), John Boozman (AR-03), and Mike Ross (AR-04) today announced that the U.S. Department of Labor has awarded $1,238,564 to the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services to assist clean-up and recovery efforts after the October severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding that affected much of Arkansas. Funds will be used to create temporary jobs to assist in recovery efforts following the damage caused by the severe weather.

 “October’s severe weather left many Arkansas homes and businesses without power and caused significant property damage. This assistance will provide critical funding to help our state continue to recover. Creating jobs and putting the economy back on the right track is my number one priority for Arkansas, and I’ll continue my fight to keep our state strong,” said Lincoln.

 “Cleaning up the damage and debris from the October storms requires considerable time and manpower,” Pryor said.  “I’m pleased the Department of Labor came through with federal resources to speed up recovery efforts and help local communities get back on their feet.”

 “Arkansas has a long history of severe weather capable of destroying homes and businesses, leaving a devastating impact on our communities,” said Berry. “It is the responsibility of the federal government to step in and help citizens recover from these types of disasters. These federal dollars will help families and businesses rebuild.”

 “The extreme weather in Arkansas has created a great need for immediate assistance to clean-up and help get these communities back in working order,” said Snyder.  “I appreciate the U.S. Department of Labor collaborating with the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services not only to repair the infrastructure of these devastated communities, but also to provide jobs for many unemployed Arkansans looking for work.”

 “I am grateful that those who have been struggling since October’s storms have not been forgotten. Our counties can only do so much within their own budgets to recover from these natural disasters. It is great to see this emergency funding to aid so many communities,” said Boozman.

 “We all know the unpredictability of Arkansas weather, and unfortunately, many Arkansas farms, families and businesses suffered because of last year’s numerous severe weather events,” said Ross.  “Federal investments like this are crucial to rebuilding our communities and I will continue working in our nation’s capital to ensure we have the necessary resources to recover from whatever storms and natural disasters come our way.”

 The geographic areas covered by this funding are: Boone, Carroll, Cleburne, Dallas, Franklin, Fulton, Izard, Jackson, Logan, Marion, Newton, Scott, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, White, and Woodruff.

 Of the $1,238,564 announced today, $412,885 will be released initially. Additional funding up to the amount approved will be made available as the state demonstrates a continued need for assistance.