Champion Eagle Mountain Magnet Archery team Will Present Program at the Old Independence Museum in Batesville

The history of archery in Independence County will be presented by the Eagle Mountain Magnet Archery team members at the museum on Sunday, April 15 at 2 p.m. They will illustrate this subject through a computerized slide program on the subject.

If weather permits, they also plan to demonstrate shooting in the side yard at the museum. Coaches Susan Parker, Mimi Goodman, and Michele Gerhardt, as well as the archers, will answer questions immediately following the presentation.

During the state archery tournament last month, Eagle Mountain Magnet won the elementary division in the state. They were the first team to compete in the inaugural State Archery Tournament in 2009.  Their Cinderella story of success that year started a chain of accomplishments that have included one State Runner-up finish in 2009, followed by three consecutive State titles. In 2011 they won the World Archery Tournament for the second time.

Coach Susan Parker, a physical education instructor in the Batesville schools for more than 20 years, has coached the team since its formation in 2009. She recently stated, “As they advanced from the State level to the National and World competitive fields, they have amassed a National Runner-up, third place at World, and two World titles.” They will be representing Arkansas on May 11 and 12 at the National Tournament as the 2012 State Elementary Champion.

“The public is invited to learn from their presentation and to encourage and celebrate their dedicated work,” said curator Twyla Wright.  Sharon Strecker is congratulating the team by providing Dairy Queen coupons to each of the members at the end of the program.

The program will be free and open to the public. Normal museum hours are: Tuesday-Saturday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and from 1:30 to 4 p.m. on Sundays.  Admission is $3.00 for adults, $2.00 for seniors and $1.00 for children.  The museum is located at 380 South 9th street, between Boswell and Vine Streets in Batesville.

Old Independence is a regional museum serving a 12-county area: Baxter, Cleburne, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Marion, Poinsett, Sharp, Stone, White, and Woodruff.  Parts of these present-day counties comprised the original Independence County in 1820’s Arkansas territory.