Final Days Approach to Make Nominations to 2023 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame

The deadline is approaching to submit nominations for the 2023 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame, a program of Arkansas Heritage. Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism Secretary Stacy Hurst urges Arkansans to make their nominations online before Oct. 31, 2022.

“Arkansas is rich with unique culture and history that deserves to be celebrated,” Hurst said. “We need the help of all Arkansans to honor the many incredible people, places and events that tell our state’s food story. Our state has an exceptional variety of food offerings and food traditions. Join us in recognizing their contributions by submitting your nominations before the end of the month.”

Individuals can submit nominations on for categories that recognize culturally significant restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events that celebrate the state’s food heritage. Categories include:

  • Arkansas Food Hall of Fame – recognizing long-standing restaurants that help create our food culture
  • Proprietor of the Year – honoring a chef, cook and/or restaurant owner who has made a significant impact on our local food tastes and preferences
  • Food-Themed Event – honoring a community food-themed event or festival that preserves a community’s unique food history
  • Gone But Not Forgotten – remembering past establishments that set the table for our food tastes and preferences today
  • People’s Choice – restaurants or food trucks, new or old, that keep our palates whetted for more Arkansas flavors

“The Arkansas Food Hall of Fame is a chance for Arkansans to honor and celebrate the individuals and businesses that help us come together to create wonderful memories and explore different flavors,” said Jimmy Bryant, director of Arkansas Heritage. “Don’t miss your chance to help tell the story of your favorite restaurants, food proprietors and food-related events.”

Nominations are reviewed and considered by members of the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame committee, composed of historians, chefs, foodies and food authors from across the state. Committee members include Paul S. Austin, Chip Culpepper, Quantia “Key” Fletcher, Cindy Grisham, Montine McNulty, Rex Nelson, Tim Nutt, Kat Robinson, Stephanie Wade, David Ware, Stanley Young, Hurst and Bryant. The committee’s selected finalists will be announced in January 2023, and honorees will be inducted during a special ceremony on March 6 in Little Rock.

For more information or to submit a nomination, visit Follow the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame on Facebook, Instagram and other social media platforms by searching and using the hashtag #ArkFHOF.

Arkansas Heritage

Arkansas Heritage was created in 1975. There are eight agencies with unique heritage focuses under the umbrella of this division: Arkansas Arts Council, Arkansas Historic Preservation Program, the Delta Cultural Center in Helena, the Old State House Museum, the Arkansas Natural Heritage Commission, the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center, the Historic Arkansas Museum and the Arkansas State Archives. Arkansas Heritage is a division of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism. Jimmy Bryant serves as director of the division.

Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism

The Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism protects and promotes our state’s natural, cultural and historic assets, contributing to a thriving economy and high quality of life. It is made up of three divisions: Arkansas State Parks, Arkansas Heritage and Arkansas Tourism. Stacy Hurst serves as the cabinet secretary for the department.