Gov. Hutchinson and the Arkansas Department of Education Announce the Results of the First Annual Governor’s All-Region Coding Competition

LITTLE ROCK – Gov. Asa Hutchinson and the Arkansas Department of Education today announced the two winning teams from each of the eight Governor’s All-Region Coding Competition Events that took place Nov. 7 at eight regional locations around the state. 
The 16 selected teams will receive an invitation to participate in the First Annual Governor’s All-State Coding Competition, which will take place in central Arkansas next spring. Each member of the first-place team will receive a $2,000 award that will be deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan. Each member of the second-place team will receive a $1,000 award deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan, with each member of the third-place team receiving a $500 award deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan. In addition, the school that produces the competition’s winning team also will receive a technology award of up to $20,000.
The following teams have been selected to advance to the Governor’s All-State Coding Competition:
Arch Ford Education Service Cooperative
•     Conway High School – Austin Codemo, Ian Isom, and Eric Pinter (Sponsor: Kimberly Raup)
•     Conway High School – Ian McCauley, Elias Noyes, and Banyon Reid (Sponsor: Kimberly Raup)
Arkansas River Education Service Cooperative
•     Hamburg High School – Morgan Blankenship, Michael Courson, and Logan Matthews (Sponsor: Cecil Cossey)
•     Star City High School – Jon-Wesley Crowder, Marco Hernandez, and Dakota Hodgdon (Sponsor: Stacy Reynolds)
Dawson Education Service Cooperative 
•     Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts – Martin Boerwinkle, Brock Davis, and Joe Sartini (Sponsor: Nick Seward)
•     Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts – Carson Cato, Brandon Cox, and Jackson Gregory (Sponsor: Nick Seward)
Northcentral ESC
•     Eureka Springs High School – Savana Shaw and Taylor Weaver (Sponsor: Eric Hearth)
•     Lead Hill High School – Michelangelo Greppi, Jacky Huang, and Zach Wessels (Sponsor: Wayne Williams)
Northeast Education Service Cooperative
•     Manila High School – Christian Booker, Kailib Brooks, and Ryan Cole (Sponsor: Gerri McCann) 
•     Paragould High School – Kasey Anderson, Sky Bateman, and Jessica Hill (Sponsor: Pam Beach)
Northwest Education Service Cooperative
•     Bentonville High School – Mohan Dodda, Saivipulteja Elagandula, and Jacob Loukota (Sponsor: Virginia Cocanower)
•     Springdale Har-Ber High School – Mason Brown, Gregory Maddra, and Noah Wehn (Sponsor: Dorothy Hill)
Southwest Education Service Cooperative
•     Arkansas High School (Texarkana) – Dillon Coburn, Alex Lee, and Kaylie Tipton (Sponsor: Linda Lowe)
•     Nevada High School – Caney Hicks, Bailey Reed, and Brady Rhodes (Sponsor: Shelly Rhodes)
Central Arkansas (hosted at Hall High School in Little Rock)
•     Central High School (Little Rock) – Evalyn Berleant, Jacob Evans-Funk, and Jackson Rayburn (Sponsor: Stephany Alhajjaj)
•     North Little Rock High School – Betsy Harrisberger, Bobby Jackson, and Melka Konshie (Sponsor: Justin Cobb)
Gov. Hutchinson and ADE extend their congratulations to the advancing team members, sponsors, and schools. In addition, all eight hosting locations are to be commended for the work of their staff in making the regional events successful and fun for students. 
Gov. Hutchinson has released the following statement: 
“Congratulations to the sixteen teams advancing to the First Annual Governor’s All-State Coding Competition! Dozens of students from across Arkansas have demonstrated exceptional computer science and coding skills in the All-Region Coding Competition, and I look forward to seeing even more of the students’ coding creativity and ingenuity as they compete in the upcoming All-State Coding Competition.” 
Schools of teams advancing to the state competition will receive an invitation with details by February 28, 2017. Details will include the date, times and location for the Governor’s All-State Coding Competition.