Jonathan Abbott Honored with the Spirit of Independence County Award

Jonathan Abbott Supervisor of City of Batesville Landscaping was honored with the Spirit of Independence County Award.

In January, the Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce honored amazing individuals with a surprise, on behalf of community sponsors, to say thank you for their impact within our community. 

Other Featured Honorees were:

Rhonda Fowler has been a loyal employee serving others before herself for approximately 30 years within the Southside School District. She wears many hats for the district, sees the bigger picture, and does her part to keep us financially sound within her department while providing unique opportunities for students along the way.

Gary Paxson was an integral part of the implementation of a Command Center for White River Health System during COVID. Under his direction, his team initiated its COVID-19 Command Center, March 16, to serve the entire region in record time.

Michelle Puckett rapidly developed an alternative childcare program for emergency licensure approval under very strict health and safety guidelines to serve our working families’ needs.  As someone who was external to WRMC, Michele treated the needs of WRMC and it’s employees and community as her own. She championed those needs until they were met. 

Tricia Cargill Zelasko has organized multiple fundraisers to assist our community. She collected and distributed food for children when the schools shut down for fear of some going hungry. She organized drives for essential products to help the elderly of our area who may not have been able to get to the store. She draws awareness to issues, organizes ways to help and requires nothing in return.

Other Honorees:

Lisa Barber, Micah Beard, Andy Bullington, Natalie Cox, Mandi Curtwright, Cheyenne Diaz, Steffanie Evans, Becky Foster, Tammy Gavin, Chad Graves, Ted Hall, Tammy Hicks, Novella Humphrey, Cole Keller, Stacey Lindsey, Paula Lovell, Kathy Magness, Lorrie McClure, Dr. Lesley Milton, Jodi Moody, Juli Reding, Helen Shaw, Sheriff Shawn Stephens, Amanda Stevens, Bryan Tuggle, Jud Weaver, Crystal Winston.

You are invited join the campaign throughout 2021. Let the Batesville Chamber know who you think reflects the “Spirit of Independence,” going above and beyond to make a positive impact and inspire others. Follow Them on social media and share your stories and photos with the hashtag #spiritofindependence to help spread our community’s spirit far and wide.