New Election Equipment Delivered to Van Buren County

New election equipment was delivered to Van Buren County on Wednesday, November 20th, by representatives from the office of Arkansas Secretary of State John Thurston.

Van Buren County Judge Dale James, Election Commissioner Bobbye Bennett, Election Commissioner George Silva, and Election Commission Chairman Johnny Rhoda were all on hand for the delivery.  Judge James signed documentation officially confirming transfer of the equipment to the county.

All of this equipment is manufactured by Election Systems & Software (ES&S).  The integrated system will consist of ES&S’s ExpressVote voting machines, DS200 tabulator machines, electronic poll books, and the accompanying software.  Following delivery and installation, county election officials and poll workers will receive training on the use and operation of the new equipment and software.

“This integrated system is modern and protected by state-of-the-art technology. We are very confident that the 2020 election in Arkansas will be its most secure election ever,” said Arkansas Secretary of State John Thurston. “I think poll workers and voters will be pleased.”

Van Buren County intends to have the new system up and running for the primary election next year.  The 2020 Preferential Primary and Nonpartisan General Election will take place on Tuesday, March 3, 2020. The 2020 General Election will take place on Tuesday, November 6, 2020.