Senator John Boozman Leads Effort Recognizing 75th Anniversary of Fulbright Program

 U.S. Senator John Boozman (R-AR) introduced a resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Fulbright Program, the United States’ flagship educational exchange established by former Arkansas Senator J. William Fulbright.

“The Fulbright Program has been instrumental in promoting international cooperation and understanding for 75 years. Participants of this prestigious professional and cultural exchange help advance our nation’s foreign policy goals by developing meaningful global connections that also further their own higher education experiences. We can be proud of the Fulbright Program and the positive force it represents through its impact on U.S. diplomacy and our desire to help build a better future for people around the world,” Boozman said.

It is a privilege to live in the state where the idea for this extraordinary international exchange program germinated. Alumni across the country and around the world honor this 75th anniversary by continuing the Fulbright tradition of education, advocacy and service throughout their lives,” said DeDe Long, Chairwoman of the Fulbright Association Board of Directors.

On August 1, 1946, President Harry Truman signed Fulbright’s legislation into law creating the international exchange program designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the U.S. and other countries. The Fulbright Program counts more than 400,000 students from 160 countries as alumni, including 60 Nobel Laureates and 39 heads of state.

The Senate resolution is cosponsored by Senators Tom Cotton (R-AR), Chris Coons (D-DE), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN) and Marco Rubio (R-FL).