Susan Henderson Conway & 3 other Teachers Named 2021 Arkansas Teacher of the Year State Semi-Finalists

Pictured (left to right): ADE Secretary Johnny Key, Susanna Post (Fort Smith), Tia Brickey (Stuttgart), Susan Henderson (Conway), Amber Harbin (Little Rock), and Gov. Asa Hutchinson.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson and Arkansas Department of Education Secretary Johnny Key announced the four teachers selected as 2021 Arkansas Teacher of the Year State Semi-Finalists. The semi-finalists were selected among 12 regional finalists and were recognized at an event today at the Governor’s Mansion. “With so many wonderful educators around the state, each year it becomes difficult to narrow the list even more,” Key said. “I congratulate these four for their commitment to their students, communities, and the teaching profession. Each of these outstanding educators serves as a role model of excellence and is deserving of this honor.”

State Semi-Finalists 

Tia Brickey
Library Media Specialist
Park Avenue Elementary School
Stuttgart School District
Arkansas River Education Service Cooperative 

Amber Harbin
Grades K-8 Science, STEM, and Project Lead the Way
Forest Heights STEM Academy
Little Rock School District
Pulaski County 

Susan Henderson
Library Media Specialist
Ellen Smith Elementary School
Conway School District
Arch Ford Education Service Cooperative 

Susanna Post
Grades 9-12
Math and Business Technology
Belle Point Alternative Center
Fort Smith School District
Guy Fenter Education Service Cooperative 

Each semi-finalist received a certificate, medallion, and a $1,000 award at today’s ceremony. The financial prize is made possible by a grant provided by the Walton Family Foundation, a long-time supporter of the program. The ATOY Selection Committee will conduct site visits, to include classroom observations and interviews, with the 2021 ATOY being named this fall. To learn more about the ATOY program, visit Today’s event was live-streamed via Facebook. (See link below.)

Follow us on Twitter @ArkansasEd.
Like us on Facebook at Arkansas Department of Education.
Follow us on Instagram at arkansas_ed.