T Tauri Film Festival!

T Tauri Film Festival Accepting Entries for 5th Annual Young Filmmakers Competition

The T Tauri Film Festival, the youth division of Ozark Foothills FilmFest, Inc., is accepting entries for the 5th annual Young Filmmakers Competition. The festival, which takes its name from the astronomer’s term for a young star, showcases and celebrates work by filmmakers in grades 6 through 12. The festival is unique in that entries are peer-judged by high school students in the Lyon College Upward Bound program, known as APPLE. Public screenings and awards presentations take place on the campus of the University of Arkansas Community College at Batesville July 30-August 1, 2009. In addition to the award winners, the festival screens a high percentage of entries as Official Selections.

Entries are accepted in the following categories:  Drama, Comedy, Short Documentary (10 minutes or less), Long Documentary (10-30 minutes), Public Service Announcement, Animation, and Experimental. Two additional awards are given: The Kid with a Camera Award, to the best film made by a student not affiliated with a school or out-of-school program; and The ArkanSTAR, to the best film by an Arkansas filmmaker. The festival also presents the Young Movie Critic Award for the best film review or essay on a film-related subject.

Competition winners receive an original “T Tauri,” a hand-thrown ceramic trophy, designed and created by Mountain View Pottery. Winners who are in grades 10-12 will also receive a $1,000 scholarship to the Watkins College of Art, Design, and Film in Nashville, Tennessee. Watkins will award scholarships to all of the “principals” who worked on the winning films, including director, producer, cinematographer, editor, cinematographer, editor, and screenwriter.

Entries must have been produced in the past two years (between April 2007 and April 2009) by youth in grades 6 through 12and not previously submitted to the T Tauri Film Festival. They must be submitted in DVD format and received by April 1, 2009.

There is no limit to the number of movies or written pieces that may be entered enter. Each film submission should be on a separate DVD to facilitate the judging process. Movies depicting violence, pornography, racism, and sexism, or using profanity are not eligible for the competition.

There is no entry fee. A completed and signed Entry Form must be submitted for each movie entered. Entry Forms and complete guidelines are available at www.ttauri.org. Competition winners will be announced by July 1, 2009. Festival Official Selections (movies that will be screened at the festival, along with the winners) will be announced by July 7, 2009.

The T Tauri Film Festival is presented by First Community Bank of Batesville with support from the Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation, the Independence County Quorum Court Recreation Fund, Lyon College and the Lyon College APPLE project, the University of Arkansas Community College, the Arkansas Arts Council, and Watkins College of Art, Design, and Film.

The T Tauri Film Festival is a division of Ozark Foothills FilmFest, Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit educational organization founded in 2001 and headquartered in Locust Grove, Arkansas. Contributions to the organization are tax-deductible to the fullest extent allowed by law. Additional information is available by calling 870-251-1189 or by email, ttauri@wildblue.net.