Winners of the 2008 Arkansas Beef Ambassador Competition

Eleven students from across the state competed in the 2008 Arkansas Beef Ambassador Competition sponsored by the Arkansas CattleWomen Association and funded by the Arkansas Beef Council.  The contest was held at the Arkansas Cattlemen’s Association offices on March 1, 2008.
Justin Bacon, 17, of Prairie Grove, won first place in the Senior Division.  He is the son of Craig and Debbie Bacon.  He won a $150 cash prize, a $1,500 scholarship, and a trip to the National Beef Ambassador Competition to be held in Oklahoma City in October.  The Senior Division consists of contestants ages 17-20.  

Christopher Kidd, Judsonia, White County, won 2nd place.  He won a $100 cash prize.

In the Junior Division, ages 13-16, Chris Sossamon of Ozark in Franklin County took home first place and a $150 cash prize.  Amanda Bacon of Prairie Grove, Washington County, won second place and a $100 cash prize.  Jacob Irwin won third and $50.  He is from Ola, Yell County.

Will Pohlman of Prairie Grove in Washington County won first in the Youth Division.  This division consists of 9-12 year olds.  Jessica Johnson, Cleburne County won 2nd place and Ken Burton, Garland County, won 3rd place.

Other participants with honorable mention were Leigh Ann Bridgers, Independence Co., Austin Keefer, Johnson Co., and Monica Kidd, White Co.

The contestants in both divisions were judged on an illustrated speech on beef and the beef industry that focused on the nutritional value, economic value, cooking principles, versatile use of beef, and the importance of beef as an agricultural product.  They were also judged on their one-on-one interview skills including questions about the beef industry.