Young authors can submit work to Arkansas Anthology

ASU – Jonesboro:  Young authors can submit work to Arkansas Anthology

Young writers can become published authors when they submit their
works to this year’s Arkansas Anthology.

The Arkansas Anthology is a collection of stories, poems, essays, and
jokes created by students and their teachers.  The writings are judged,
selected, and published annually by the Arkansas Council of Teachers of
English and Language Arts (ACTELA), a non-profit professional organization.

Selected authors will receive an award certificate by the end of the
school year and a copy of Arkansas Anthology 2009 after it is published
later that summer or early fall.  A complimentary copy will be given to
teachers who send the entries of winning students.  Additional copies may be
purchased for a nominal fee.

There is no entry free for 2009, but publishable works of high
interest and high quality are requested.

Categories: Short story (maximum 700 words), essay (maximum 500
words), personal narrative (maximum 500 words), descriptive paragraph,
poetry, and very short pieces such as descriptive sentences, original jokes,
epigrams, metaphors, or similes.

Deadline:  Entries must be emailed by or postmarked by March 31, 2009.

Guidelines:  Entries must be typed.  Each entry must include this
statement by the student and verified by either a teacher or a
parent/guardian:  “This is my original work.  I grant permission to ACTELA
to publish this if it is a winning entry.” E-mail signatures are
acceptable.  Each entry should include the following information:  Student’s
name, grade, and a mailing address for either the school/teacher or the
student.  Include the teacher’s name with student entries.  MSWord email
attachments are preferred, but print copies can be mailed to the address

E-mail submissions as an attachment to or mail to
Arkansas Anthology, c/o Dr. Robert Lamm, P.O. Box 1890, State University,
AR  72467.

ACTELA is an affiliate of the National Council of Teachers of English:

# # #
— This and other releases are online at